The Jacksonville Urban Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (JUMPO) is the regional transportation planning organization for the Jacksonville, North Carolina metropolitan area.  JUMPO consists of representatives from the City of Jacksonville, Onslow County, Town of Richlands, Town of Swansboro, Town of Holly Ridge, Town of North Topsail Beach, the North Carolina Department of Transportation, and area military bases.  The City of Jacksonville is designated as the Lead Planning Agency (LPA) for JUMPO.  JUMPO facilitates a regional, cooperative planning process that serves as the basis for the expenditure of all federal transportation funds in the area for improvements to the transportation network including streets, highways, bridges, public transit, bicycling and pedestrian networks.

JUMPO serves as the coordinating agency between local governments, NCDOT, and FHWA.  Staff has established a close working relationship with the member organizations as well as with the planning staffs of the neighboring MPOs and Rural Planning Organizations (RPOs).The Jacksonville Urban Area Metropolitan Planning Organization is comprised of three parts:

JUMPO is responsible for carrying out an annual work program approved by the TAC and TCC. Other requirements include the development of the Metropolitan Transportation Plan (fiscally constrained twenty-year multimodal plan), the Metropolitan Transportation Improvement Program (programming document), the Public Participation Plan, and an annual listing of obligated projects using federal funding.